Copyright ©2017 NYOOOZ.COM

60 educational institutions get full autonomy, see complete list here

60 educational institutions get full autonomy, see complete list here


60 educational institutions get full autonomy, see if your college made it to the list right here.

The nodal body minding colleges and universities, University Grants Commission (UGC) has granted full autonomy to 62 higher educational institutions, including five central and 21 state universities, which maintained high standards, Human Resource Development minister Prakash Javadekar announced today at a press conference

The institutions granted full autonomy will be free to decide their admission procedure, fee structure, and curriculum.

Universities in this category will have the authority to introduce a new course, department, syllabi, and restructure and redesign the courses to suit local needs, prescribe rules for admission in consonance with the reservation policy of the state government/national policy; promote research in relevant fields, evolve methods of assessment of students performance, the conduct of examinations and notification of results all without UGC’s approval.

They will also be exempt from UGC’s regular inspections and can collaborate with foreign educational institutions without the regulator’s permission. Their performance will be reviewed based on self-reporting.

"In line with the vision of PM @narendramodi towards the liberalized regulatory regime, 62 Higher Education institutions, which maintained high standards, have been granted autonomy by the UGC today, (sic)," he posted on Twitter.

Five central universities, 21 state universities, 26 private universities besides 10 other colleges have been granted autonomy under the Autonomous Colleges Regulation, the minister added.

The Human Resource Development Minister has also announced that the rules to implement IIMs giving away degrees in the place of PG diploma will be on the table latest by May. The students will be given degrees for the academic session starting 2018.

See the complete list of the universities here:

1. Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi

2. University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad

3. Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi

4. Aligarh Muslim University, Aligarh

5. The English and Foreign Languages University, Telangana

6. Jadavpur University, Jadavpur, Kolkata

7. Algappa University, Karaikudi

8. NALSAR University of Law, Telangana

9. SavitribaiPhule Pune University, Pune

10. Andhra University, Visakhapatnam

11. National Law University Delhi, Dwarka

12. Utkal University, Bhubaneswar

13. Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra

14. Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati

15. Osmania University, Hyderabad

16. Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar

17. University of Jammu, Jammu

18. University of Mysore, Mysuru

19. Anna University, Chennai

20. Punjab University, Chandigarh

21. Kakatiya University, Warangal

22. Punjabi University, Patiala

23. Rajiv Gandhi University of Law, Patiala

24. National Law University Odisha, Cuttack

25. University of Madras, Chennai

26. Guru Jambheshwar University of Science & Technology, Hisar

27. Homi Bhabha National Institute Mumbai, Maharashtra

28. Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha,Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh

29. Gandhi Institute of Technology and Management (GITAM), Visakhapatnam, AP

30. Narsee Monjee Institute of Studies, Mumbai, Maharashtra

31. Sri Ramachandra Medical College and Research Institute, Chennai, Tamil Nadu

32. Dr DY Patil Vidyapeeth, Pune, Maharashtra

33. Shanmugha Arts, Science, Technology & Research Academy (SASTRA)Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu

34. Symbiosis International, Pune, Maharashtra

35. Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai, Maharashtra

36. Datta Meghe Institute of Medical Sciences, Wardha, Maharashtra

37. Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai, Maharashtra

38. TERI School of Advanced Studies, New Delhi

39. Jain University, Bangalore, Karnataka

40. Vellore Institute of Technology, Vellore, Tamil Nadu

41. Manipal Academy of Higher Education

42. KLE Academy of Higher Education and Research, Belgaum,Karnataka

43. Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Coimbatore, Tamil Nadu

44. Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT), Bhubaneswar, Odisha

45. JSS Academy of Higher Education & Research, Mysore, Karnataka

46. ICFAI Foundation for Higher Education and Research, Hyderabad, Telangana

47. Dr MGR Educational and Research Institute, Chennai, Tamil Nadu

48. Padmashree Dr DY Patil Vidyapeeth Navi Mumbai, Maharashtra

49. The Indian Law Institute, New Delhi

50. Siksha ‘O’ Anusandhan, Bhubaneswar, Odisha

51. OP Jindal Global University Sonipat, Haryana

52. Pandit Deendayal Petroleum University, Gandhinagar, Gujarat

53. Yashvantrao Chavan Institute of Science, Satara, Maharashtra

54. Sri Sivasubramaniya Nadar College of Engineering, Kalavakkam, Tamil Nadu

55. G Narayanamma Institute of Technology & Science, Hyderabad, Telangana

56. Vivekanand College, Kolhapur, Mumbai

57. Sri Vasavi Engineering College, Tadepalligudem, Andhra Pradesh

58. Bonam Venkata Chalamayya Engineering College, Odalarevu, Andhra Pradesh

59. Jai Hind College Basantsing Institute of Science & J.T. Lalvani College of Commerce, Mumbai, Maharashtra

60. Shri Vile Parle Kelavani Mandal’s Mithibai College of Arts, Chauhan Institute of Amrutben Jivanlal College of Commerce and Economics, Mumbai, Maharashtra

If You Like This Story, Support NYOOOZ



Your support to NYOOOZ will help us to continue create and publish news for and from smaller cities, which also need equal voice as much as citizens living in bigger cities have through mainstream media organizations.


  • Print This Article