New CM of Odisha, Mohan Charan Majhi, KV & Pravati Parida as deputy CMs

BY DN Singh

The suspense is finally over in Odisha as to who will  be the chief minister from the Bharatiya Janata Party as on Tuesday it was announced by Union Minister Rajnath Singh. Mohan  Charan Majhi has been named the chief minister of the double engine  BJP government in the state. Majhi is four times MLA from Keonjhar.district who started his career as a Sarpanch. However he had been a teacher in a school.

K VSinghdeo is a seven time MLA from Patnagarh in Bolangir district while Pravati Parida is a first time MLA from Nimapada in Puri district. ,

As per reports the swearing in ceremony will take  place on Wednesday evening in which Prime Minister Modi is expected to be present.

Mohan Charan Majhi became the third tribal chief minister of Odisha after Giridhar Gamang and Hemananda Biswal of the Congress. Odisha got a tribal chief minister after over 24 years. Biswal, the first tribal to be at the helm of Odisha, was the chief minister twice. The Congress leader was at the top post first for the period between December 7, 1989, to March 5, 1990. He became the CM again on December 6, 1999, while this stint ended on March 5, 2000. Biswal was a six-time MLA who also represented Sundergarh Constituency in the Lok Sabha.

In his second stint, Biswal replaced Gamang who was the chief minister from February 17, 1999, to December 6 of the same year. Gamang was also elected to the Lok Sabha nine times between 1972 and 2004.

If You Like This Story, Support NYOOOZ



Your support to NYOOOZ will help us to continue create and publish news for and from smaller cities, which also need equal voice as much as citizens living in bigger cities have through mainstream media organizations.

Related Articles