Karnataka Election Results 2018 LIVE Updates: Hung House, Governor to take the final call!

  • | Tuesday | 15th May, 2018

Catch all the LIVE UPDATES of Karnataka Assembly Elections Results 2018 here with NYOOOZ.

After an eventfull polling in most of the assembly seats of Karnataka with cases of booth rigging, EVM tampering and mal-functioning reported here and there, the Karnataka polls have come to an end and the fate now lies in the hand of the counting centers who have started the process and will soon come up with the final verdict of who will build the next government in the state. Voting in the Karnataka assembly elections 2018 for 222 seats was held across the state on May 12, 2018, where 72.13 per cent of the 4.94-crore strong electorate exercised their franchise to decide the fates of 2,654 candidates, contesting for 222 seats out of 224 assembly constituencies.. The Siddaramaiah-led Congress government in the state is facing a tough challenge from the BJP which has hopes to return to power in Karnataka, the only southern state it has ruled. However, the incumbent Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is highly confident about his party`s potential to retain the state by a huge majority.

During the promotions, Prime Minister Narendra Modi addressed over 20 meetings in the last ten days of campaigning to bring forward the face of chief ministerial candidate BS Yeddyurappa. An equally aggressive Karnataka poll campaign by the Congress, led by Rahul Gandhi, saw him touring across the state and interacting with voters from all walks of life.

On Friday, the Election Commission deferred voting in Bengaluru`s Rajarajeshwari Nagar constituency, where nearly 10,000 voter cards were found in a flat, to May 28. Voting for another constituency in Bengaluru was postponed due to the death of the BJP candidate and the sitting legislator. The votes will be counted for 222 of the 224 seats next Tuesday, May 15.

Opinion polls have predicted that neither the Congress, nor the BJP will get the majority in the state and former Prime Minister HD Devegowda`s Janata Dal (Secular) will be the kingmaker.

Catch all the LIVE UPDATES of Karnataka Assembly Elections 2018 here with NYOOOZ: 

7.36 PM: CPI(M) leader Sitaram Yechury has also tweeted in support of the Congress-JD(S) alliance. 

7.02 PM: Amit Shah on Karnataka Election verdict

6.56 PM: PM Modi on Karnataka Ellection Results

6.29: "JD(S) and Congress have 116 MLAs as well as the support of 2 Independent candidates," Kumaraswamy says at the press conference.

6.28: The Governor told us that once the official numbers from the Election Commission are out, he will take his decision," HD Kumaraswamy said while addressing reporters outside Raj Bhavan.

6. 24 PM: Kerala Tourism`s sarcastic tweet on the Karnataka Elections situation:

6.03 PM: 

5.34 PM: JD(S)`s HD Kumaraswamy arrives at Raj Bhawan to meet Karnataka Governor in Bengaluru

5.30 PM:  Governor asks BJp to prove majority at Karnataka Assembly house

5.12 PM: HD Kumaraswamy has sent a letter to the Karnataka Governor saying that he has accepted the Congress`s offer for support and is ready to stake claim as Chief Minister of Karnataka. He now seeks an appointment from the Governor.

4.25 PM: Siddaramaiah submits his resignation to the Governor of Karnataka 

4.10 PM: 


3.30 PM: HD Kumaraswamy is now the probabale CM candidate if BJP misses majority mark

3.15 PM:  Congress delegation does not get entry to Governor`s house

3.00 PM: BJP`s CM candidate BS Yeddyuruppa on the result mandate

12.57: Rajyavardhan Rathore`s staunch reply on Karnataka elections as a trailer of the upcoming General Assembly elections

12. 50:  BJP Leader Ram Madhav on Karnataka Election mandate

12.45: BJP MP Subramanian Swamy`s reaction when asked about Congress raising questions on EVMs

12.42: BJP rejoice theire victory at Karnataka with Mega celebrations shortly, Union Minister of Human Resource and Development and BJP incharge in Karnataka to join the BJP office of Karnataka shortly

12.40: BJP is one its way to being`Congress-Mukht-Bharat`

12.34: BS Yeddyurappa is expected to leave for Delhi later this afternoon. The 75-year-old presumptive chief minister who headed the BJP`s first governmentin Karnataka in 2008, has already declared a "date" for his oath ceremony. This morning, he was seen performing a puja before the counting votes began. Mr Yeddyurappa, who is contesting from Shikaripura, the constituency in Shivamogga, is leading and is oevr 20,000 seats ahead of the Congress candidate.

12.27:  Maharashtra Navanirmal Sena Chief Raj Thackeray on Karnataka Election Results:

12.08: Defense Minister Nirmala Sitharaman: Today is a historic day and we are celebrating. The prime minister has proved that only agenda of development works, divisive policy of the Opposition has failed today

11. 58:  Know evrything about the new Chief Minister to be of Karnataka, BS Yeddyurappa


11. 54:  West Bengal CM, Mamata Banerjee on Karnataka election 

11.44:  Union Minister Prakash Javdekar on BJP`s win In Karnataka Assembly Elections:

11.30:  DK Shivkumar, Karnataka Minister on Congress is loss

11.20 AM:  BJP on their win and end of Siddaramaiah`s rein in Karnataka

11.19: Congress Leader Mohan Prakash on EVM tampering

11. 12 AM:  

11.11 AM: " People have rejected Siddaramaiah" JD(S) Leader G T Devegowda

11. 08AM: BJP leading at 121 seats now

11. 00 AM:  BJP Karnataka wing congratulates their CM candidate ans wishes hima stable government in the state.

10.50 AM:  Chatisgarh Chief minister congratulates BJP on gaining majority in Karnataka Assembly elections

10. 43: BJP chief Amit Shah will go to the party office in Delhi after 1 pm.

10.27: BJP workers celebrate outside party office in #Bengaluru as BJP gets majority

10. 20: BJP leads at 112 seats, gains majority

10.00: The BJP`s chief ministerial candidate, BS Yeddyurappa, is ahead in Shikaripura, and JDS state president HD Kumaraswamy in Ramanagara.

9.30: BJP has taken a lead in coastal Karnataka, with leads in 11 constituencies and in Lingayat dominant constituencies with 29 seats. Congress is leading on 6 seats in costal Karnataka and with 9 seats in Lingayat constituencies

9.00 AM: It is a close fight between BJP and Congress, with Congress leading on 75 seats and BJP leading on 77 seats at 9.02am.

8.30 AM: Siddaramaiah is leading in Badami while BJP`s heavyweight B Sreeramulu is trailing 

8.00 AM: Counting has begun

If You Like This Story, Support NYOOOZ



Your support to NYOOOZ will help us to continue create and publish news for and from smaller cities, which also need equal voice as much as citizens living in bigger cities have through mainstream media organizations.

Stay updated with all the Bangalore Latest News headlines here. For more exclusive & live news updates from all around India, stay connected with NYOOOZ.

Related Articles