CM drops six MLAs from list, retains prominent faces

  • | Thursday | 28th March, 2019

The party has re-nominated most of the prominent faces, including seven ministers, in the Naveen Patnaik cabinet. Bhubaneswar: At least six sitting BJD MLAs were denied tickets while the sons of three legislators were nominated on Wednesday as the party announced the candidates’ list for 36 assembly seats going to polls in the final two phases. The list includes three women.The MLAs denied ticket were Rabinarayan Mohapatra (Ranapur), Saroj Samal (Dhenkanal), Bedabyasa Nayak (Telkoi), Hrusikesh Naik (Patna), Abhiram Naik (Keonjhar) and Bijay Nayak (Karanjia).The BJD fielded minister Bijayshree Routray’s son Bishnu Brata from Basudevpur seat.In place of chit-fund accused legislators Pravata Tripathy (Banki) and Pravat Ranjan Biswal (Cuttack-Choudwar), the BJD named their sons Debi Ranjan and Souvic, respectively. The two MLAs had earlier said they will not contest.In Ranpur and Telkoi, the party has reposed faith in two of its former MLAs — Satyanarayan Pradhan and Premananda Naik, while former Congress MLA Madhaba Sardar has been nominated from Keonjhar.Sudhir Samal, who deserted Congress to join BJD in April 2017, replaced Saroj in Dhenkanal while Patna block chairman Jagannath Naik will replace Hrusikesh.Basanti Hembram, a grass-roots worker, has been nominated for Karanjia seat. Binjharpur MLA Pramila Mallik and Hindol MLA Seemarani Nayak are the two other women candidates picked by Naveen.Rajya Sabha member Pratap Keshari Deb, who had lost the 2014 assembly election from Aul against Congress’ Devendra Sharma, will be fighting from the same seat.BJD heavyweights Sanjay Das Burma (Brahmagiri), Arun Kumar Sahoo (Nayagarh), Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak (Mahakalapada), Debi Prasad Mishra (Badamba) and Pranab Balabantaray (Dharmashala) will fight to retain their respective constituencies.Ministers who got tickets include Pratap Jena (Mahanga), Ananta Das (Bhograi), Prafulla Samal (Bhandaripokhari), Ashok Panda (Ekamra-Bhubaneswar), Prafulla Mallik (Kamakhyanagar), Nrusingha Charan Sahoo (Parjanga) and Badri Patra (Ghasipura).

Read Full Article Here

If You Like This Story, Support NYOOOZ



Your support to NYOOOZ will help us to continue create and publish news for and from smaller cities, which also need equal voice as much as citizens living in bigger cities have through mainstream media organizations.

Stay updated with all the Latest Bhubaneswar headlines here. For more exclusive & live news updates from all around India, stay connected with NYOOOZ.

Related Articles