BJP, Cong determined to end BJD hegemony this time

  • | Sunday | 11th February, 2024

In the intricate landscape of Brahmapur politics, the BJP and Congress are formulating strategies to dismantle the stronghold of the ruling BJD as the simultaneous elections are getting closer. The spotlight is on the Brahmapur Parliamentary seat, where candidate selection has emerged as a main concern.   All three major parties, BJD, BJP and Congress, are contemplating the introduction of new blood for the forthcoming elections, signalling a departure from the line-up of candidates fielded in 2019.   The Brahmapur Parliamentary Constituency encompasses the key Assembly seats of Chhatrapur, Gopalpur, Brahmapur, Digapahandi, Chikiti in Ganjam, besides Parlakhemundi and Mohana in Gajapati district. Within the BJD camp, deliberations are underway regarding the potential candidacy of former Minister Chandrasekhar Sahu, with divergent opinions regarding his re-nomination or the allocation of an alternative role owing to his extensive political acumen. Actor and former MP Siddhant Mohapatras recent presence in Brahmapur has reignited speculations as he made efforts to reconnect with the constituents and reinforce his political stance.   Conversely, BJP finds itself grappling with internal discord following Bhrugu Baxipatras withdrawal from contention for the Brahmapur Lok Sabha seat, triggering rumour of MLA Pradeep Panigrahi joining the party fold. Factional tensions within the local BJP leadership, exemplified by the replacement of Bibhuti Bhusan Jena with Dr Subash Chandra Sahu as district president, are a challenge. Meanwhile, Congress contemplates introducing a fresh candidate in lieu of the inactive V Chandrasekhar Naidu for the upcoming electoral battle.   As preparations intensify for the 2024 elections, all parties are fervently consolidating their organisational footholds and identifying candidates with leadership credentials and popular appeal. BJP, in particular, is strategizing to mount a formidable challenge to BJDs supremacy by nominating a strong contender for the Lok Sabha seat. However, the resolution of Bhrugu Baxipatras candidacy remains a lingering uncertainty. It is expected that the decision may be taken at the Central leadership level.   In a retrospective glance at the 2019 general election, Chandra Shekar Sahus triumphant victory in the Lok Sabha contest on BJD ticket, with a resounding margin of 94,844 votes over his closest adversary, Baxipatra of BJP underscores his status as a frontrunner for the partys nomination in the upcoming polls.   "The latest exit poll survey conducted by Times Now indicates a potential victory for the BJP in the Brahmapur Lok Sabha seat. And the Assembly seats most likely to go to BJPs kitty are Mohana, Parlakhemundi, Chikiti, Digapahandi and Gopalpur, BJP Ganjam district president Dr Subash Chandra Sahu said.

If You Like This Story, Support NYOOOZ



Your support to NYOOOZ will help us to continue create and publish news for and from smaller cities, which also need equal voice as much as citizens living in bigger cities have through mainstream media organizations.

Stay updated with all the Latest Bhubaneswar headlines here. For more exclusive & live news updates from all around India, stay connected with NYOOOZ.

Related Articles

Odisha EOW brings kingpin on transit remand
  • Saturday | 17th February, 2024
AMOFOI holds Valentine’s Day
  • Saturday | 17th February, 2024
Crorepati Boudh RTO arrested by Vigilance
  • Saturday | 17th February, 2024