CPM fields Tamil writer Su Venkatesan in Madurai

  • | Friday | 15th March, 2019

The VCK will contest from Chidambaram and Villupuram. CHENNAI: Even as DMK president M K Stalin announced constituencies in which his party as well as alliance parties are going to contest the Lok Sabha elections , two of the allies – the CPM and the IUML -- announced names of candidates in three constituencies allotted to them.The CPM is fielding Tamil writer and Sahitya Academy award winner Su Venkatesan in Madurai constituency. Former CPM Lok Sabha member P R Natarajan has been renominated as the candidate for Coimbatore constituency.Venkatesan captured 600 years of the history of Madurai -- between 1310 and 1920 -- in his debut novel “Kaaval Kottam.” He won Sahitya Akademi award for the year 2011.The IUML is fielding Nawaz Kani in Ramanathapuram constituency.The DMK will contest from North Chennai, Central Chennai, South Chennai, Sriperumbudur, Arakkonam, Vellore, Kancheepuram, Dharmapuri, Tiruvannamalai, Kallakurichi, Salem, Nilgiris, Pollachi, Dindigul, Cuddalore, Mayailaduthurai, Thanjavur, Tuticorin, Tirunelveli and Tenkasi.The Congress will contest from Tiruvallur, Arani, Kanyakumari, Sivaganga, Theni, Karur, Trichy, Krishnagiri and Virudhunagar while Madurai and Coimbatore have been allotted to CPMThe CPI got Nagapattinam and Tirupur while the MDMK has been allotted Erode.

Read Full Article Here

If You Like This Story, Support NYOOOZ



Your support to NYOOOZ will help us to continue create and publish news for and from smaller cities, which also need equal voice as much as citizens living in bigger cities have through mainstream media organizations.

Stay updated with all the Chennai Latest News headlines here. For more exclusive & live news updates from all around India, stay connected with NYOOOZ.

Related Articles