LDF-backed Independent to head Feroke municipality

The elections were necessitated after the IUML chairperson and Congress vice chairperson were voted out in a no-confidence motion last month. Khamaru Laila, and Congress rebel K. Moideen Koya were elected chairperson and vice chairperson respectively of the Feroke Municipality, the elections to the posts were held on Wednesday. The UDF, with 17 members, was ruling the municipality with the support of two independent members. Both Mr. Koya and Ms. Shalini were removed from the primary membership of the Congress party, District Congress Committee leaders said. The United Democratic Front had nominated P. Rubeena of the IUML and V. Mohammed Hassan of the Congress to contest the post of chairperson and vice chairperson respectively.

Read Full Article Here

Stay updated with all the Latest Kochi headlines here. For more exclusive & live news updates from all around India, stay connected with NYOOOZ.

Related Articles