First phase of Uttar Pradesh assembly polls begins from Tuesday

  • | Tuesday | 17th January, 2017

LUCKNOW: The formal bugle for the crucial 2017 UP assembly polls would be blown on Tuesday with the issuance of notification for the first phase of assembly elections. As per the directions of the ECI, the candidates would also have to furnish the no-demand certificate vis-a-vis electricity bill, water bill, telephone bill and rent. The last date of withdrawal of nominations in January 27. According to the Election Commission of India, the first phase would witness 73 assembly constituencies in 15 districts of the state (western part) going to polls.The districts going to polls in the first phase are Shamli, Muzaffarnagar, Baghpat, Meerut, Ghaziabad, Gautam Buddh Nagar, Hapur, Bulandshahr, Aligarh, Mathura, Hathras, Agra, Firozabad, Etah and Kasganj. Vote Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) machines would be used in Agra (Agra Cantonment and Agra South), Aligarh (Aligarh), Ghaziabad (Ghaziabad) and Meerut (Meerut).The first phase will cover western UP districts, including riot-scarred Muzaffarnagar and Shamli, where BJP had fared well in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections primarily due to polarisation.Nomination process would commence immediately after the issuance of notification at around 11.00 am.

Read Full Article Here

Stay updated with all the Lucknow Latest News headlines here. For more exclusive & live news updates from all around India, stay connected with NYOOOZ.

Related Articles