List of draft polling stations released

TIRUNELVELIThe district, housing 10 Assembly constituencies, including two segments reserved for Scheduled Caste / Scheduled Tribe candidates, will have 2,931 polling stations, as per the draft polling stations list released by Collector Shilpa Prabhakar Satish here on Monday. Assembly segments and the number of polling stations: Sankarankovil (Reserved) – 274 polling stations, Vasudevanallur (Reserved) – 271, Kadayanallur – 321, Tenkasi – 316, Alangulam – 306, Tirunelveli – 306, Ambasamudram – 288, Palayamkottai – 268, Nanguneri – 293 and Radhapuram – 288. While 20 of these polling stations have been shifted to new areas, names of nine polling stations have been changed, based on the recommendations of the Returning Officers concerned. The tentative list of polling stations has been released as a precursor to the Parliamentary polls scheduled to be held in May 2019. Consequently, it has led to the birth of 50 new polling stations – 17 in urban areas and 33 in rural areas – to take the number of polling stations in the district from 2,881 to 2,931.

Stay updated with all the Latest Madurai headlines here. For more exclusive & live news updates from all around India, stay connected with NYOOOZ.


Related Articles