IPL 2018: Kolkata Knight Riders vs Delhi Daredevils Preview

The Kolkata Knight will seek to return to winning ways when they take on the Delhi Daredevils in Match 13 of VIVO IPL 2018.

While Kolkata Knight Riders won their opening game, they lost the next two and have been chopping and changing, trying to find the right balance. Delhi Daredevils, meanwhile, have won their last game after losing the first two and finally look to have a settled line-up with designated roles for each player.

Gautam Gambhir at the top of the order not only gives Delhi a left-right combination that bowlers will find difficult to adjust to but also the perfect mix of power and precision. The decision to promote Pant to No.3 also paid dividends and gave them more firepower at the top. With the likes of Glenn Maxwell and Daniel Christian to follow that formidable top-order, DD should have enough in the bank to get the better of a KKR bowling line-up that is far from settled.

KKR’s Sunil Narine will be the one bowler the Delhi Daredevils batsmen will look at playing out. Narine may not have collected too many wickets in recent times, but he has been extremely difficult to score off.

 With Chris Lynn slowly kicking into gear, Dinesh Karthik needs to give himself more time at the crease and figure out what Robin Uthappa and Sunil Narine's roles are in the side. While Andre Russell can provide some firepower with the bat in the middle-order, KKR also needs to give Gill more time to show why he has been such a revelation in U-19 cricket.

In a head to head, KKR has claimed a total of 12 matches while Delhi 7 from a total of 19 matches.

Although the Kolkata Knight Riders will have home advantage, their inexperience and over-reliance on key players might just be their undoing in this. With a powerful batting line-up that is good enough to tear apart any bowling attack, Delhi Daredevils will go into the game as favourites and a much-awaited return of two-time champion  Gautam Gambhir will be brushing off nostalgic throwback era with KKR.


Source: NYOOOZ DESK - IPL 2018