Many former players, including Indian team captain Virat Kohli, have raised concerns about umpiring in WTC final.
Rain washed out the excitement of the second day's play of the World Test Championship between India and New Zealand as only 65 overs could be completed. The Indian team's score was 146 runs for three wickets
Many former players, including Indian team captain Virat Kohli, have raised concerns about umpiring after the on-field umpires opted for a DRS review of Kohli's caught-behind without New Zealand's appeal in the ongoing World Test Championship (WTC) final with New Zealand.
During the last ball of the 41st over of the Indian innings, Kohli tries to play a shot on the ball going outside the leg stump but the ball goes to the wicketkeeper. After this, bowler Trent Boult appeals for a catch out; meanwhile, it seems that the Kiwi captain exceeds the time limit for taking DRS but umpire Richard Illingworth starts talking to the leg umpire about this. After talking to each other, both the umpires decide to take the umpire review.
There was a ruckus about the matter because the cameras did not show any soft signal from Illingworth. It was later learned that the field umpire had given a soft signal of out. The Indian captain was confused about the third umpire's involvement when New Zealand did not opt for a review.
What does the rule say:
As per the rules, the on-field umpire can ask the third umpire only when there is doubt about the catch. However, Watling caught the ball cleanly.
Former Indian opener Virender Sehwag criticized the decision of the field umpire on Twitter.
Funny umpiring there with Virat.— Virender Sehwag (@virendersehwag) June 19, 2021
No decision given by the umpire and it automatically became a review.
Tuning in to the Womens test match for the time being , hoping for Harman and Punam to save the Test match.