BJD spoilt for choices in Berhampur LS seat

  • | Sunday | 10th February, 2019

The constituency is spread across Ganjam and Gajapati districts.BJD, which won the seat in the last two elections, has a number of aspirants. Sahu was elected from the seat in 2004 and became a minister in the Manmohan Singh cabinet.Similarly, Panda was elected to the assembly in 2000 from Chhatrapur assembly segment under Berhampur LS seat. The Congress and BJP, on the other hand, face a dearth of suitable local candidates to challenge the ruling party candidate. Former Union minister Chandra Sekhar Sahu and former deputy speaker of assembly Rama Chandra Panda had contested on Congress and BJP tickets, respectively, from the seat. Berhampur: While the ruling BJD faces a problem of plenty, major political parties seem to be facing an uphill task in fielding candidates for the prestigious Berhampur parliamentary constituency for the coming Lok Sabha election.

Read Full Article Here

If You Like This Story, Support NYOOOZ



Your support to NYOOOZ will help us to continue create and publish news for and from smaller cities, which also need equal voice as much as citizens living in bigger cities have through mainstream media organizations.

Stay updated with all the Latest Bhubaneswar headlines here. For more exclusive & live news updates from all around India, stay connected with NYOOOZ.

Related Articles