Congress fields Jyoti Khandelwal woman candidate from Jaipur seat after 48 years

  • | Saturday | 30th March, 2019

She wanted to contest the last assembly election from a Jaipur seat, but the Congress denied her the ticket. In the nine parliamentary elections held from 1984 to 2014, the seat has always elected a Brahmin candidate, be it of Congress or of BJP. Between 1989 and 2014, BJP’s Girdhari Lal Bhargava won the seat six times in a row.Congress’ Brahmin candidate, Mahesh Joshi, last won it in 2009. Jaipur: After a gap of 48 years, the Jaipur Lok Sabha seat will have a woman candidate from a national party contesting the general elections.The last time a woman candidate contested and won from here was Gayatri Devi, the erstwhile queen of Jaipur, in the 1971 general elections. In 1977 and 1980, Satish Agarwal won from here, once on the ticket of Bharatiya Lok Dal and once as Janata Party candidate.

Read Full Article Here

If You Like This Story, Support NYOOOZ



Your support to NYOOOZ will help us to continue create and publish news for and from smaller cities, which also need equal voice as much as citizens living in bigger cities have through mainstream media organizations.

Stay updated with all the Latest Jaipur headlines here. For more exclusive & live news updates from all around India, stay connected with NYOOOZ.

Related Articles