Maharashtra CM Eknath Shinde expands two-member cabinet; 18 ministers sworn in

  • | Tuesday | 9th August, 2022

Mumbai, Aug 9 (PTI) Maharashtra Chief Minister Eknath Shinde on Tuesday expanded his two-member ministry, 41 days after taking oath as the CM. Eighteen legislators, including state BJP president Chandrakant Patil, were sworn in as cabinet ministers at Raj Bhavan in south Mumbai. The list doesn"t include a woman. The strength of Maharashtra ministry has now gone up to 20, less than half the maximum allowed strength of 43. Governor B S Koshyari administered the oath of office to the ministers. The event, scheduled to begin at 11 am was delayed by 15 minutes. On June 30, Shinde was sworn in as the chief minister and Devendra Fadnavis took oath as deputy CM. Those who took oath as ministers on Tuesday include nine each from the Shinde group and the BJP. The new BJP ministers are Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil, Sudhir Mungantiwar, Chandrakant Patil, Vijaykumar Gavit, Girish Mahajan, Suresh Khade, Ravindra Chavan, Atul Save and Mangalprabhat Lodha. From the Shinde group, Gulabrao Patil, Dada Bhuse, Sanjay Rathod, Sandipan Bhumre, Uday Samant, Tanaji Sawant, Abdul Sattar, Deepak Kesarkar and Shambhuraj Desai were sworn in as ministers. No minister of state was sworn in today. There will be another ministry expansion later, an aide of Shinde said. While BJP has inducted Lodha, who hails from Mumbai, the Shinde group hasn"t included any legislator from the financial capital, where municipal corporation elections are slated later this year. PTI ND VT VT VT

If You Like This Story, Support NYOOOZ



Your support to NYOOOZ will help us to continue create and publish news for and from smaller cities, which also need equal voice as much as citizens living in bigger cities have through mainstream media organizations.

Stay updated with all the Mumbai Latest News headlines here. For more exclusive & live news updates from all around India, stay connected with NYOOOZ.

Related Articles