Devendra Pratap elected for Rajya Sabha unopposed

  • | Wednesday | 21st February, 2024

The Bharatiya Janata Partys Devendra Pratap Singh was on Tuesday declared elected unopposed for the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Chhattisgarh. No one else filed nomination for the biennial post. Singh was elected in place of Saroj Pandey. Singh was handed over his election papers by Assembly Secretary and Election Officer Dinesh Sharma. He was accompanied by BJP leaders Brijmohan Agrawal and Ajay Chandrakar. Singh is a scion of the erstwhile Gond tribal royal family from Raigarh and an active member of the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh. His great grandfather Raja Chakradhar Singh was a patron of classical dance and music. The other four Rajya Sabha MPs from Chhattisgarh are KTS Tulsi, Phulodevi Netam, Ranjeet Rajan and Rajiv Shukla, all from the Congress.

If You Like This Story, Support NYOOOZ



Your support to NYOOOZ will help us to continue create and publish news for and from smaller cities, which also need equal voice as much as citizens living in bigger cities have through mainstream media organizations.

Stay updated with all the Latest Raipur headlines here. For more exclusive & live news updates from all around India, stay connected with NYOOOZ.

Related Articles