K Sreekumar elected as mayor of Thiruvananthapuram Corporation

  • | Tuesday | 12th November, 2019

By Express News ServiceTHIRUVANANTHAPURAM: LDF candidate K Sreekumar has been elected as mayor of the Thiruvananthapuram Corporation. Sreekumar, who was serving as health standing committee chairman, won 42 votes while his nearest contender BJP's MR Gopan secured 35 votes. The mayor election was necessitated after the incumbent VK Prasanth was elected to the assembly from the Vattiyoorkavu seat. The seat tally in the corporation is as follows: LDF- 43, BJP- 35, UDF- 21, independent- 1Polling was held in two rounds. Party sources said Kunnukuzhi councillor IP Binu is likely to replace Sreekumar as health standing committee chairman.

Read Full Article Here

If You Like This Story, Support NYOOOZ



Your support to NYOOOZ will help us to continue create and publish news for and from smaller cities, which also need equal voice as much as citizens living in bigger cities have through mainstream media organizations.

Stay updated with all the Latest Thiruvananthapuram headlines here. For more exclusive & live news updates from all around India, stay connected with NYOOOZ.

Related Articles