With 30% minorities, Bijnor had just 1 Muslim MP since Independence

  • | Saturday | 23rd March, 2019

Bijnor: Since independence, Bijnor Lok Sabha seat has had only one Muslim MP, in 1957, despite the fact that 30% of the voters here are Muslims. There are over five lakh Muslims here.As per data available at the election office, since independence, only one Muslim leader, Abdul Latif of Congress, was elected as MP from Bijnor in 1957. Congress has fielded Indira Bhati and Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party has fielded Isham Singh Gujjar. Congress's Nemisharan was the first MP of Bijnor after he was elected in 1952. In the 1971 bypoll, Congress candidate Ramdayal won.

Read Full Article Here

If You Like This Story, Support NYOOOZ



Your support to NYOOOZ will help us to continue create and publish news for and from smaller cities, which also need equal voice as much as citizens living in bigger cities have through mainstream media organizations.

Stay updated with all the Meerut Latest News headlines here. For more exclusive & live news updates from all around India, stay connected with NYOOOZ.

Related Articles