Oscars 2021: The complete list of winners

"Nomadland," a recession-era tale about a community of van dwellers in the American West, won the Oscar for best picture on Sunday. The film stars Frances McDormand as a widow in a depressed Nevada mining town who turns her van into a mobile home and sets out on the road, taking seasonal jobs and making friends along the way. McDormand won her third Oscar for "Nomadland," cementing her reputation as one of the best actresses of her generation. McDormand's win makes her a member of an elite club that includes Meryl Streep, Daniel Day Lewis and Jack Nicholson as the winners of three acting Oscars. The late Katharine Hepburn won a record four.

Here are all the winners from the 93rd Academy Awards:

Best Picture

"Nomadland" - WINNER

"The Trial of the Chicago 7"


"Promising Young Woman"


"The Father"

"Sound of Metal"

"Judas and the Black Messiah"

Best Actor

Chadwick Boseman - "Ma Rainey's Black Bottom"

Anthony Hopkins - "The Father" - WINNER

Riz Ahmed - "Sound of Metal"

Gary Oldman - "Mank"

Steven Yeun - "Minari"

Best Actress

Carey Mulligan - "Promising Young Woman"

Frances McDormand - "Nomadland" - WINNER

Vanessa Kirby - "Pieces of a Woman"

Viola Davis - "Ma Rainey's Black Bottom"

Andra Day - "The United States vs. Billie Holiday"

Best Original Screenplay

“Judas and the Black Messiah,” Will Berson, Shaka King, Keith Lucas, Kenneth Lucas

“Minari,” Lee Isaac Chung

“Promising Young Woman,” Emerald Fennell - WINNER

“Sound of Metal,” Abraham Marder, Darius Marder, Derek Cianfrance

“The Trial of the Chicago 7,” Aaron Sorkin

Best Adapted Screenplay

“Borat Subsequent Moviefilm,” Peter Baynham, Sacha Baron Cohen, Jena Friedman, Anthony Hines, Lee Kern, Dan Mazer, Nina Pedrad, Erica Rivinoja, Dan Swimer

“The Father,” Christopher Hampton, Florian Zeller - WINNER

“Nomadland,” Chloé Zhao

“One Night in Miami,” Kemp Powers

“The White Tiger,” Ramin Bahrani

Best International Feature Film

“Another Round” (Denmark) - WINNER

“Better Days” (Hong Kong)

“Collective” (Romania)

“The Man Who Sold His Skin” (Tunisia)

“Quo Vadis, Aida?”(Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Best Supporting Actor

Sacha Baron Cohen ("The Trial of the Chicago 7")

Daniel Kaluuya ("Judas and the Black Messiah") - WINNER

Leslie Odom, Jr. ("One Night in Miami")

Paul Raci ("Sound of Metal")

LaKeith Stanfield ("Judas and the Black Messiah")

Make-up and Hairstyling

"Ma Rainey's Black Bottom" - Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal and Jamika Wilson - WINNER

"Emma" - Marese Langan, Laura Allen and Claudia Stolze

"Hillbilly Elegy" - Eryn Krueger Mekash, Matthew Mungle and Patricia Dehaney

"Mank" - Gigi Williams, Kimberley Spiteri and Colleen LaBaff

"Pinocchio" - Mark Coulier, Dalia Colli and Francesco Pegoretti

Best Director

 Chloe Zhao ("Nomadland") - WINNER

David Fincher ("Mank")

Emerald Fennell ("Promising Young Woman")

Lee Isaac Chung ("Minari")

Thomas Vinterberg ("Another Round")

Best Supporting Actress

Olivia Colman - "The Father"

Amanda Seyfried - "Mank"

Glenn Close - "Hillbilly Elegy"

Youn Yuh-jung - "Minari" - WINNER

Maria Bakalova - "Borat Subsequent Moviefilm"

Best Animated Feature Film


"Over the Moon"

"A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon"

"Soul" - WINNER


Best Documentary Film


"Crip Camp"

"The Mole Agent"

"My Octopus Teacher" - WINNER


Best Sound

"Greyhound" - Warren Shaw, Michael Minkler, Beau Borders and David Wyman

"Mank" - Ren Klyce, Jeremy Molod, David Parker, Nathan Nance and Drew Kunin

"News of the World" - Oliver Tarney, Mike Prestwood Smith, William Miller and John Pritchett

"Soul" - Ren Klyce, Coya Elliott and David Parker

"Sound of Metal" - Nicolas Becker, Jaime Baksht, Michellee Couttolenc, Carlos Cortés and Phillip Bladh - WINNER

Film Editing

"Sound of Metal" - Mikkel E. G. Nielsen - WINNER

"The Father" - Yorgos Lamprinos

"Nomadland" - Chloé Zhao

"Promising Young Woman" - Frédéric Thoraval

"The Trial of the Chicago 7" - Alan Baumgarten

Best Original Song

"Husavik (My Hometown)," "Eurovision Song Contest"

"Fight for You" - "Judas and the Black Messiah" - WINNER

"Hear My Voice" - "The Trial of the Chicago 7"

"Io Si (Seen)" -"The Life Ahead"

"Speak Now" - "One Night in Miami" (Compiled by Patricia Reaney; Editing by Dan Grebler)

Short Film (Animated)
"Burrow" - Madeline Sharafian and Michael Capbarat

"Genius Loci" - Adrien Mérigeau and Amaury Ovise

"If Anything Happens I Love You" - Will McCormack and Michael Govier - WINNER

"Opera" - Erick Oh

"Yes-People" - Gísli Darri Halldórsson and Arnar Gunnarsson


"Judas and the Black Messiah" - Sean Bobbitt

"Mank" - Erik Messerschmidt - WINNER

"News of the World" - Dariusz Wolski

"Nomadland" - Joshua James Richards

"The Trial of the Chicago 7" - Phedon Papamichael

Visual Effects

"Love and Monsters" - Matt Sloan, Genevieve Camilleri, Matt Everitt and Brian Cox

"The Midnight Sky" - Matthew Kasmir, Christopher Lawrence, Max Solomon and David Watkins

"Mulan" - Sean Faden, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury and Steve Ingram

"The One and Only Ivan" - Nick Davis, Greg Fisher, Ben Jones and Santiago Colomo Martinez

"Tenet" - Andrew Jackson, David Lee, Andrew Lockley and Scott Fisher - WINNER

Music (Original Score)

"Da 5  Bloods" - Terence Blanchard

"Mank" - Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross

"Minari" - Emile Mosseri

"News of the World" - James Newton Howard

"Soul" - Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross and Jon Batiste - WINNER

If You Like This Story, Support NYOOOZ



Your support to NYOOOZ will help us to continue create and publish news for and from smaller cities, which also need equal voice as much as citizens living in bigger cities have through mainstream media organizations.

Related Articles